The O'Connell Law Firm, P.C.

Standing Strong With You

Giving You the

Personal Attention

You Deserve

Get Help with DUI or DWAI in Colorado

Representation from a Colorado Criminal Defense Attorney

Driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol can seriously inhibit your ability to operate your vehicle safely, and is thus prohibited by Colorado law, a charge known as Driving Under the Influence (DUI), or Driving While Ability is Impaired (DWAI). The legal limit for drivers over the age of 21 is .08% for a DUI, and .05% for DWAI.

When you are charged with either DUI or DWAI, it is important that you act quickly. You have only seven days to request a hearing with the Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles after your arrest, and this hearing will determine whether you are able to keep your driving privileges or face the full penalties of the law. Therefore it is vital that you retain the services of a skilled Colorado criminal defense lawyer to represent you in the legal process. At The O’Connell Law Firm, P.C., we have assisted numerous clients with their DUI and DWAI charges, and provided reputable legal counsel and representation in hearings to give our clients the best possible chance at a successful outcome.

Call The O’Connell Law Firm, P.C. today by dialing (303) 759-4000 and requesting a free consultation for your case!

Penalties for a DUI/DWAI

The penalties for a DUI or DWAI are a serious matter and could leave a lasting impact on your life and family. This is also where the biggest difference between the two charges can be found: DWAI carries lighter penalties than DUI due to the reduced blood alcohol requirement in order to be charged.

Penalties for a first-offense DUI/DWAI can include:

  • Jail time: DWAI – up to 180 days; DUI – up to one year
  • Fines: DWAI – up to $500; DUI – Up to $1,000
  • License suspension: none for DWAI; DUI – nine months
  • Possible ignition interlock device installation for repeat offenders

It is important to note that unlike other states, Colorado does not have a look-back period, meaning any previous DUI or DWAI convictions will be considered for repeat offender status. Penalties for any repeat offender increase significantly, and can see you face jail sentences of a year or more.

We may be able to assist you with the following DUI/DWAI questions:

  • Hearing representation
  • Suspended licenses
  • Temporary restricted licenses
  • Field sobriety tests
  • Repeat offenders
  • Marijuana DUI charges
  • Felony DUI

Do not delay if you have been charged with DWAI or DUI, retain reputable representation from The O’Connell Law Firm by contacting our firm today!